Is this thing on?

A play-by-play guy trying to survive in a mid-major world

The Sunny Side

One last look at Huntington Park.  Not the best shot, but it’s from my seat on the bus.

LOU 003.jpgThe Tribe will not be back in the ‘Bus until July.  We will see if the wind pattern changes and I believe The Hunt will be apitchers nightmare when it is all said and done. 

Time for a two game set in Louisville and the team is staying in Jeffersonville, Indiana.  J-Ho says we are on the the sunny side of the river.  In the past we have been staying in the ‘ville and to be honest I wish I was closer to this place, but the rooms in our hotel are TERRIFIC.  I’m furnished with a 32″ flat screen (HD channels no less) and it’s tough to beat a king size bed.  I was pretty pumped to see the Starbucks in the room and the spacious desk with a view of the river makes working a little easier.  I have never been to Jeffersonville so I took a recommendation for lunch.

 

LOU 005.jpgNot a bad meatball sub, not bad at all.  I still believe I’m young enough to not worry about heartburn.  My only concerns are making it through an entire baseball game, if you know what I mean.  My call today was between a meatball sub or an italian sausage sub.  Next time I’ll try out the sausage. 

As for the Indianapolis Indians; the next two games will end a 19 game stretch vs. the West Division.  If the starting pitching (2-6, 5.14 ERA) steps up the next two days I believe the Indians will return home with a 9-9 record.  For the most part the bullpen has done a decent job (5-3, 4.09).  I’m sure things will change as we move into May, but the Indians starting pitchers have only pitched 77 1/3 of the teams 146 innings.  RHP Daniel McCutchen (1-1, 2.25) goes tonight while RHP Virgil Vasquez (0-1, 4.32) will pitch tomorrow.

Game Notes:  OF Jeff Salazar has an 8 game hit streak.  During this run he has raised his BA from .258 to .317.  Erik Kratz is having a great road trip going 9 for 25 scoring 6 runs and driving in 3.  Here is a picture of today’s Indians line-up. 

LOU.jpgShelby Ford will miss his sixth consecutive game, but may see action off the bench with NL rules in place.  Ford has been held out of the line-up since re-aggravating a spring training injury.  He has yet to take batting practice, but has been able to play catch.  Ford wants to play, but it’s not his call.  From my perspective he looks frustrated and possibly a little bored. 

The Indians will play tonight’s game a man below the 24-man roster limit.  Expect them to fill the spot left by Brian Bixler sometime before Thursday’s home game vs. Rochester.  Nice article and highlight of Bix right here

Here is another guy who is looking to stick in the big leagues.  So far so good. 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

