Is this thing on?

A play-by-play guy trying to survive in a mid-major world

Lincoln Delivers for Indians

What a great night for the Indians as the Tribe earned a nine inning shutout at Louisville for the first time since July 5, 2008.  Brad Lincoln was in command from the start and Kevin Hart blew the fastball by the Bats to earn the save.  Hart’s heater was clocked at 94 miles per hour throughout his three innings.  When it was all said and done Lincoln was the star of the game and here is his post game interview:

 

What a Difference five days makes, how did it feel to get back out there on the mound and what was the wait like from Friday to tonight?

 

It was something I needed to bounce back from it was kind of a rough outing for me (Friday) it was uncharacteristic of me to give up what I did in my first outing.  Tonight I came out, pounded the zone with my fastball and fastball command. Then late in the game my curveball was there and I was able to keep them off balance.  We were able to play together as a team and we have a lot of excited pitchers in there because now we don’t have to shag during batting practice tomorrow.

 

Whas there any moment early on that allowed you to settle down during the game?

 

From the 1st inning on, when I was able to command the inside part of the plate that really helped me out.  I only had 3 strikeouts tonight because they were putting the ball in play and my guys made plays.  For me that is a big key if I want to go deep into games.  I need to be efficient with my pitches and I was tonight.

 

Did you have an idea on how tonight would play out? (Scheduled to throw 5 or 6 then be followed by Hart)

 

I don’t worry about that kind of thing.  I don’t worry about pitch counts or where I’m at during the game. If I do that I think I’ll change my mindset.  So I go out there and get ready for the next inning.  I do better when I focus and keep that mental thought process and tonight it worked out.  Then Kevin came in and shut the door.

 

What will the next five days be like following this outing?

 

There is always room for improvement and I will go look at some video to help me see what I did well and what I need to work on and I will take that into my next bullpen.  It is always a thought process of mine to get better and find something that allows me to get better.

 

Through twitter (follow me @ScottDMcCauley) wanted to know if the move to the ‘pen by Hart was a sign of things to come.  He was asked to in a relief role so he can come back on three days rest and pitch on Sunday.  Hart will remain in the Indians rotation and this was a one time thing.  Donnie Veal is tonight’s scheduled starter and yesterday he put on a show during batting practice.  Add Veal to the long list of pitchers who think they are hitters.

 

NEWS AND NOTES:

 

Steve Pearce has opened the season with a 7 game hitting streak.  Pearce has 12 hits over the first 7 games of the season with 8 going for extra-bases.  It’s only one week, but he is playing like a guy who should have made the Pirates opening day roster.  We’ll take him in Indy, but a few guys in Pittsburgh had better start to hit. 

 

Jose Tabata has a six game hitting streak.  The Indians outfielder has not displayed much power but he is 4 for 4 in the stolen base department.  Tabata has played in all but one game this season and Manager Frank Kremblas likes him in the lead-off spot.      

 

The Indians wrap up this 8 game road trip tonight vs. the Bats at 7:05.  Tomorrow is the home opener and game one of a nine game homestand.  I can’t wait to get home tonight…today’s is my daughter’s four month birthday.  I told her to stop growing while I’m on the road and she didn’t listen.  She’s a cutie folks…

 


Maddie 011.jpg

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Lincoln Delivers for Indians

  1. vwhitaker@iendeavor.com on said:

    Congratulations, Dad! She is definitely a cutie:-)

  2. indyjoe on said:

    Looks like a pretty good sized mouth on the little scooter. What a surprise.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

