Is this thing on?

A play-by-play guy trying to survive in a mid-major world

In with the new

In central Indiana the Colts are oh-for-the season and college football isn’t exactly stealing the headlines.  Isn’t it time someone stepped up and give the fans something to cheer about?  Well my friends, say hello the college basketball season.  I know right now the mid 60 temps make it tough to think about hoops, but don’t wait for old man winter.  The time to follow your favorite team is now. 

First, let’s get the quick introduction out-of-the-way, shall we?  I am Scott McCauley and this will be my third season as the “Voice of the Jaguars.”  To outsiders this is my first blog entry, but to diehard Jaguars and Indianapolis Indians baseball fans writing has been a hobby of mine for the past three years.  In addition to calling the action for the Jags, I am a broadcaster for the Tribe and decided to move my baseball and basketball blog to one spot.  You can still find my old baseball entries athttp://indyindians.mlblogs.com/ and unfortunately a server change wiped away my entries from last years basketball season.  So to keep things straight and in a forum I can control, this blog was created.  To all of my loyal baseball followers, please take note of the change and hoops fans sign up to follow the Jaguars through the 2011-2012 college basketball season.

The Jags were picked this preseason to finish 4th in the Summit League and senior forward Alex Young was named the league’s preseason player of the year.  In the next couple of days I’ll post for you my preseason ballot and what players were my picks for All-Summit League preseason 1st and 2nd team.  I was a little surprised at the 1st team and will get into that in a couple of days.  This first entry is just a short introduction, but I don’t want to leave you without a little nugget.  Here is a trivia question you can stump all of your buddies with….and even the most knowledgable of college hoops experts. 

Which active player enters this college basketball season with the most career points? 

I’ll give you a hint…he doesn’t play for UCONN.  Or North Carolina, or Duke, or Ohio State…he plays in the state of Indiana.  Purdue’s Robbie Hummel?  Nope.  Some guy from Notre Dame?  Nope, it’s IUPUI’s Alex Young.  (C’mon, really?  The fact is straight from @EdHoldaway and the IUPUI sports information department.)  Alex has scored 1,633 points in his career and is the Jaguars all-time Division I leading scorer.  Think about that, he set the DI mark his junior year! 

AY can play and so can the rest of the Jags.  You can see them in action tonight beginning at 7:00 for the first annual Red-White scrimmage.  It’s free and your first look at college hoops and the Jaguars. 

Thanks for finding the blog and it will feature photos, audio, video, and an inside look at the IUPUI Jaguars search for an NCAA tournament bid.  Along the way I plan on catching up with some baseball players to see how they are spending their off-season.  This is a new home and a new look, but I’ll try my best to bring you quality you expect.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “In with the new

  1. Vivian Whitaker on said:

    Glad you are writing again:-) Always enjoyable reading for me!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

